Surprisingly this turned out to be good. I had my doubts regarding the Lime-Aid, and if I hadn’t been such a git I would have read further and realized I could have used fresh lime juice. I will the next time. I also baked these at 350 for 40 mins instead of grilling them. Our tank ran out.

I make my own taco seasoning mix. I usually buff it out and make lots to store. I’ve included the recipe as well. Less chemicals, yay!

I’m in my “experiment with couscous phase” so I made a Spanish Couscous for the side. I’ll try to recreate it, it was yummy!

Lime-Taco Barbecued Chicken
Old el Paso

 

1/2 cup frozen limeade concentrate, thawed

1/3 cup olive or vegetable oil

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp chopped cilantro

1 tsp grated lime rind

1 pkg Taco Seasoning Mix

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts

 

To make marinade, in shallow glass or plastic dish, or resealable plastic bag, mix all ingredients except chicken.

 

Between pieces of plastic wrap or waxed paper, place each chicken breast smooth side down; gently pound with flat side of meat mallet or rolling pin until about 1/4-inch (6 mm) thick. Add chicken to marinade; turn to coat. Cover dish or seal bag; refrigerate at least 30 minutes but no longer than 24 hours.

 

Heat coals or gas grill for direct heat. Remove chicken from marinade; discard marinade. Cover and grill chicken over medium heat 8 to 10 minutes, turning once, until juice of chicken is clear.

 

Kitchen Tip

No frozen limeade? Then 1/3 cup lime juice can be used.

Lawry’s Taco Seasoning Mix

1 tablespoon Flour

1 teaspoon Chili Powder

1 teaspoon Paprika

3/4 teaspoon Salt

3/4 teaspoon Minced Onion

1/2 teaspoon Cumin

1/4 teaspoon Cayenne

1/4 teaspoon Garlic Powder

1/4 teaspoon Sugar

1/8 teaspoon ground Oregano

Mix together and use in place of one pkg taco seasoning mix.

My Spanish Couscous

1 1/2 cps Chicken Broth (I use low sodium, no msg stock base)
1 cp Couscous
1 tbsp Olive Oil
2 tsp Chili Powder
2 tbsp fresh Cilantro (optional)
2 tbsp fresh Lime Juice
1 tsp Lime Rind, grated
S&P
2/3 cp Onion, chopped
1 cp Corn, frozen
1/2 cp Salsa

Put oil in large skillet or frying pan. On med-hi heat sauté the onion until almost translucent. Add corn and continue sautéing until caramelized.

To the chicken broth add the lime juice and rind, chili powder, cilantro and s&p whisking well. Add to pan.

When at the boil add the couscous and remove from the heat allowing to sit for 5 minutes before fluffing with a fork. While fluffing add the salsa and mix well.

Note: I did this a little ahead of time and added some cheese on top and baked with the chicken until melted.

