I love Greta and Janet. In my opinion they revolutionized  how some cookbooks are written. They started with one book called Looney Spoons and have built an empire that includes a TV show, frozen meals and a whole lot of other stuff. Very cool for 2 small town Canadians.

I really respect the fact that they have actually decided to take their first book out of print. They felt that it was well written at a time (way back in ’96 lol), but much has been learned about nutrition since then and it didn’t fit with their ideals. Ballsy of them to admit that.

Regardless, I sure didn’t buy this book for the low fat recipes. I just loved the format of it. Not only is there a recipe, but all sort of nutritional, shopping and cooking tips are included. Their books are a little quirky, and sometimes downright silly, but I love the first 2. I don’t own the third, and I don’t think I’ll buy it simply because it is a seriously weight conscious publication and I have lots of those…for some reason. I don’t tend to buy foods that are “lite” or “no fat”. I do think though that every Canadian cook should have these in their library.

My favourite recipe out of both books is actually a veg friendly version of Pad Thai and is found in Crazy Plates. I love this and have been making it for years. I’ve even made it camping. (make the sauce ahead of time and freeze).

To add a protein (yes I know the peanuts are a protein), I just skewer some shrimp and bbq them up while this is cooking.

I served some biscuits with this and had an Apple Gingerbread cake for dessert.

Pod’s Pad Thai

Serves 3

 

8 ounces Rice Noodles, uncooked

1/4 cup Ketchup

2 tablespoons reduced sodium Soy Sauce

2 tablespoons Lime juice

2 tablespoons Brown Sugar

1 tablespoon seasoned Rice Vinegar

1 teaspoon Sesame Oil

1/2 teaspoon crushed Red Pepper flakes

1 teaspoon Vegetable Oil

1/2 cup diced Red Onions

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup Bean Sprouts

1/2 cup grated Carrots

1/4 cup chopped Green Onions

1/4 cup chopped fresh Cilantro

1/4 cup chopped Peanuts

 

Cook noodles in boiling water for 3 minutes, or until tender. Drain. Rinse with cold water and drain again. Set aside.

 

To make sauce, combine ketchup, soy sauce, lime juice, brown sugar, vinegar, oil and crushed red pepper flakes in a small bowl. Set aside.

 

Heat oil in a large, non-stick wok or skillet over medium heat. Add onions and garlic. Cook and stir until onions are tender, about 3 minutes. Add sauce and bring to a boil. Add cooked noodles, bean sprouts, carrot, green onions and cilantro. Mix well.

 

Cook until noodles are heated through, about 2 minutes. Sprinkle individual servings with chopped peanuts.

 

Notes: I always DOUBLE the sauce part of the recipe. I use Tamari instead of Soy Sauce. Buy wider “fettuccine” type rice noodles. Angel hair or vermicelli rice noodles make it really hard to mix the ingredients in.  Mix all the veggies and stuff first and add the noodles last. Toss well with salad utensils for best results.

