Ok so I need some input here.

Yesterday I received an email from an old friend who dropped off the planet a number of years ago without so much as a by-your-leave.

In the email this person expresses regret at doing this to so many people and especially to me. They acknowledge and realize that, at the time, they were going through a very difficult part of their life and I was “there” for them, helped them get through it and listened when needed.

This person is now reaching back out to me and I’m not too sure how I feel. I wrote this person off years ago as an uncaring and unfeeling dolt who selfishly used people and then when the shoe was on the other foot, they bailed. And then along comes an email full of contrition, but not entirely apologetic.

Half of me wants to ignore the email and block them on FaceBook and the other half want to forgive them and move on. But, by moving on, it will mean a redefinition of our friendship as I can no longer trust them. If this happened to you, what would you do?

Some of you may know who I am talking about as they may have contacted you as well. It really doesn’t matter though who it is, I am just a little confused as to what to do.

