While its pretty easy just to go out and buy these, I like making them.  I have tried bread machine recipes, but they’re just not the same.

In our house we don’t toast them, we split, butter, and then fry them. I don’t know why we do that, we just do. My parents will only eat these around Easter, but I like them year round. Its their tradition I guess, just not mine.

So keeping with the holiday…

Hot Cross Buns

 

2 (1/4 ounce) packages OR 1 tbsp active dry Yeast

1/2 cup Water (110 to 115 degrees)

1 cup Milk (110 to 115 degrees)

1/2 cup Sugar

1/4 cup Butter, softened

1 tsp Vanilla

1 tsp Salt

1/2 tsp Nutmeg, ground (I use fresh grated)

6 1/2-7 cups Flour

4 Eggs

1/2 cup candied Citron *

1/2 cup Raisins (I use Golden Raisins)

 

2 tbsp Water

1 Egg Yolk

 

Icing

 

1 cup Confectioners’ sugar (aka Icing Sugar)

4 tsps Milk

1/4 tsp Vanilla

 

 

In a large mixing bowl, combine yeast and water stirring well to dissolve. Put milk and butter in small microwaveable bowl and heat together to soften butter and heat milk.

 

To the yeast mixture, add milk and butter, sugar, vanilla, salt, nutmeg and 3 cups of the flour; beating until smooth.

 

Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each. I use my hand mixer up to this point. Stir in the fruit.

 

Add enough remaining flour to form a soft dough. Turn onto a floured board; knead until smooth and elastic, 6-8 minutes. Really!

 

Place in a buttered bowl; turn once to grease top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, maybe an hour.

 

Punch dough down; shape into 24 balls and place on greased baking sheets. **

 

Cut a cross on top of each roll with a sharp knife. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes.

 

Beat water and egg yolk; brush over rolls. Bake at 375 degrees for 12-15 minutes, watching carefully. Cool on wire racks.

If you are going to freeze, do so at this point.

 

For icing, combine sugar, milk and vanilla until smooth; drizzle over rolls.

 

* Depending on the mood I’m in, I will use any combination of candied fruit, raisins, currents, dried cranberries, blueberries etc etc. Anyway, just make sure your choices measure up to 1 cup.

 

** Because this is a sweet dough it will burn faster than regular bread dough. I usually line baking sheet with parchment paper.

 

