I think after all these years, that I finally have a recipe for mac and cheese I like!

 

In October I posted that I was a little fussy when it came to Mac and Cheese. Strange, considering I like everything in it, just not in most combinations. Creamy Macaroni and Cheese a la Paula Deen was not really what I was looking for, and that kind of motivated me to find the right combination…for me.

 

Micaylah’s Mac’n’Cheese

 

3 cups Shell pasta, cooked and drained (or pasta of your choice)

 

1/2 cup Butter

1/4 cup Onions, finely chopped

1/4 cup Flour

1/2 tsp Salt

Pepper to taste

3/4 tsp Dry Mustard (I use Keens)

1/2 tsp Paprika

1/2 tsp Bay Seasoning (optional)

2 cups Milk

2 cups Cheddar Cheese, grated

1 28 oz can diced Tomatoes, drained

1 Tomato, sliced

1/3 cup Parmesan or Romano Cheese, grated

1 tsp dried Parsley (or fresh chopped)

 

Spray or grease a baking dish or casserole. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

 

Blend the flour, salt, paprika, bay seasoning, dry mustard, and pepper in a small bowl.

 

In a large saucepan, over medium-high heat melt butter and sauté onions until tender.

 

Slowly add the flour mixture to the onions stirring well. Add the milk gradually, stirring constantly between each addition. Cook until thickened. (I do part of this with a whisk and graduate to a spoon)

 

Remove from heat and add the cheddar cheese. Stir to melt. Add drained tomatoes and the cooked pasta. Mix well.

 

Pour pasta mixture into the casserole. Slice the fresh tomato and arrange on top. Sprinkle the parmesan cheese and parsley over all.

 

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes. Let sit 5 mins before serving.

