Its winter. Have I mentioned that I hate winter? Probably.

So I look to sauced or spicy foods to make that trudge through the long frozen Canadian winter just a little more bearable. I am typical in that I crave heavier more complex dishes in the cold season and then eat like a bird in the summer. Go figure.

And since I firmly believe in listening to your bodies cravings, I eat where my cravings take me. I am incredibly fortunate that this leads me to have a fairly balanced diet. So if I feel like poutine, I eat poutine. If I feel like having Brussels sprouts, lentils and tofu for dinner, I have that. Well ok, maybe not the tofu. lol

I figure if your body wants something, it usually needs it. And right now, its red meat!

Steak with Sour Cream Sauce

2-3 servings

I served this over egg noodles and with a chef salad.

1 1/2 lbs Top Sirloin Steaks

 

2 tbsp All Flour

1/2 tsp Paprika

1/2 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Pepper

1/4 cup Oil

1/2 cup Chopped Onions

1 Garlic Clove, minced

2/3 cup Water

2 tbsp Soy Sauce

2 tbsp Brown Sugar

1/2 tsp Dijon-Style Mustard

1/4 lb Sliced Mushrooms

1/2 cup Sour Cream

 

Trim fat from meat and cut into bite size pieces. Dredge in flour, seasoned with paprika, salt and pepper.

 

Heat oil in a heavy skillet (I use Grape Seed Oil). Sear steak on all sides to brown outside, not cook through. Add onion and garlic to pan.

 

Mix water, soy sauce (I use Tamari), brown sugar and mustard together and add to pan. Cover and simmer for 8 to 10 minutes.

 

Add mushrooms. Continue to simmer for 5 minutes or until meat is tender. Stir in sour cream (I used low fat). Simmer until thoroughly heated and serve over egg noodles.

