makes a mean Brisket! I love her Brisket. It makes me glad to be an omnivore. It makes me want to convert to Judaism! Or maybe move to Montreal! OK, perhaps I’m getting carried away, but I’m sure you can understand my anguish when I discovered that the recipe she had sent me had disappeared!

So theres my sad little brisket staring at me from over there on the counter. I turned to the only information source I had for this cut of meat, the internet.

I couldn’t really remember what Freya’s ingredients were so I looked at several recipes and sort of fused them together. It was good, but it wasn’t the same.

I don’t use soup mixes but somewhere in my memories of childhood dinners I think I remember my Mom making a roast once or twice with this stuff (and maybe dip for a party). So I thought I’d give it a try. It didn’t make me want to run out and stock up on the stuff but it wasn’t horrible either. It certainly wouldn’t be that difficult to make your own soup mix powder I suspect. It would also never occur to me to use this stuff for actual soup though. Eww.

 

Not the Same Brisket

1.5k Brisket roast
3-4 large Carrots
1/2 Onion, sliced
1/2 cup Tomato Juice
1/4 cup dried Garlic Slices
1 pkg Onion Soup Mix
Coarse Salt & Cracked Pepper

Spray crockpot with pan release.

Wash carrots and cut into long chunks that will fit into the bottom of the crockpot to form a “rack” to place meat on.

Remove all extra fat from cut of meat. Rub with salt and pepper and sear on high heat in frying pan to brown. Remove from pan and allow to cool slightly. Add onions to pan and sauté.

Rub onion soup mix into roast and place over carrots. Add onions and garlic slices and carefully pour tomato juice over all.

Cook in crockpot for 6-8 hours on low. When done remove from crockpot, and allow to stand for 10 minutes. Slice against the grain of the meat.

The sauce makes a good “au jus”.

