I wasn’t going to post this, simply because they were too weird, but since I’m having a problem with uploading photos right now, I’m going to try.

Due to a canceled birthday dessert, I had some extra Lemon Curd sitting in the fridge that I was going to have used for a filling for a birthday cake. It most certainly wasn’t going in the trash, but I didn’t want to just plunk it in prebaked tart shells either. So for company dessert one night I used it as a topping on Haagen Dazs Vanilla Bean Ice Cream. That went over really well.

Speaking of Haagen Dazs, check out these flavours!

Anyway, last Sunday I made a ham dinner and so for dessert I thought, what the heck, lets put it in shells. Then I thought I would get creative and make little hattes for them out of meringue.

It never occurred to me that, having never made meringue before, it would be difficult. And indeed it wasn’t, except they sure turned out odd. And WAY too big for my little lemon tarts. And they tasted more like marshmallows, which totally confused (and disappointed) me as I had used no corn syrup.

So I ended up serving the meringues on the side as they looked so ridiculous on top of the tarts. As I’m sure you can see.

R loved the hattes but to me they just tasted like marshmallows and not meringue!

Way Awesome Lemon Curd
from Joy of Baking

3 large eggs

1/3 cup (80 ml) fresh lemon juice (2-3 lemons) (do NOT use the bottled lemon juice)

3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar

1 tablespoon (4 grams) finely shredded lemon zest

4 tablespoons (56 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature and cut into small pieces

(I freeze my butter a little bit and then grate it on the big size)

 

In a stainless steel bowl placed over a saucepan of simmering water, whisk together the eggs, sugar, and lemon juice until blended. Cook, stirring constantly (to prevent it from curdling), until the mixture becomes thick (like sour cream or a hollandaise sauce) (160 degrees F or 71 degrees C). This will take approximately 10 minutes.

Remove from heat and immediately pour through a fine strainer to remove any lumps. Cut the butter into small pieces and whisk into the mixture until the butter has melted. Add the lemon zest and let cool.
 
The lemon curd will continue to thicken as it cools. Cover immediately (so a skin doesn’t form) and refrigerate for a week. (They actually mean to “refrigerate for UP to a week.”)

