Butter tarts are always at the top of my Christmas Baking List. Everyone in my family loves them. The only problem is, is that they all love a different version of them. Some like currant ones, others like golden raisin tarts and then others like just nuts. So I double the recipe and make 3 different versions, and give half away.

I also buy the tart shells frozen, already in their little liners. With the time and the effort of making dough from scratch, well…Im just not that good. After much kicking, dragging, and screaming I have started  to make my own pastry. I suppose having a Mother that can make perfect pastry without even blinking made me never to have to learn. And while I have never taken the credit for the pastry, all those hundreds and hundreds of SCA pasties I have made over the years were never my own pastry, just some kind soul coming over and taking pity on me.

But no one seems to complain that my butter tart pastry isn’t from scratch, and thats just fine with me.

Butter Tarts
makes 3+ dozen

1/2 cup Butter
2 Eggs, separated
1/2 cup Raisins or Currants or Nuts (or whatever you like in butter tarts)
1/2 cup Brown Sugar, packed
1 cup Corn Syrup
1 tsp Vanilla
dash Salt

3 dozen 3″ frozen pastry shells

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and thaw the tart shells according to the package. Sprinkle raisins, currants and nuts into bottom of shells, about a teaspoonful.

Cream butter and sugar well. Beat in egg yolks, corn syrup, vanilla, and salt. (I do this step in a food processor but you don’t have to.)

Beat egg whites until stiff peaks form. Fold into egg mixture. and spoon into shells, filling 3/4 full. Bake for 15 mins or until browned.

Freezable.

