First off, lets not confuse these with “Macaroons”. These are not the sugary coconut confections that we see today. Also, they are not “Makerouns”, which is medieval lasagne!

I made these at Feast of the Hare for lunch, or the Royalty room, I cant remember, and I liked them so much that I’m making them for Christmas. They are a fairly non-sweet option for the dessert tray and is traceable to the 1600’s. It was first found in “The accomplisht ladys delight in preserving, physick and cookery”, Woolley, H., Plat, H., & Harris, T. (1675).

So after making these I decided that I’ll take them to the Caldrithig Christmas party this Sunday. As well, I’m going to bring a ham. And with it, a cherry compote that I made this summer and froze. I have already posted the recipe for Mackrons but I’ll include it here again. Oh ya, theres’ few ingredients, and are fast and easy to make.

Edit Jan 10: There was an interesting article regarding Italian Almond Macaroons in the Holiday issue of Cooks Illustrated magazine, pg 36.

Mackrons
 

1 1/4 cup ground Almonds
1/4 cup Sugar
1 tsp Flour
2 Egg Whites
2 drops Rosewater or Vanilla
 

Mix the Almonds, sugar and flour together.

 

Beat the egg whites until a stiff peak forms. Fold in rosewater or vanilla and then fold this into the nuts. Drop onto parchment paper and bake in a 350° oven for about 15-20 mins, checking after 15. Makes about 25.

(My Note: I used Vanilla in place of the Rosewater as I cant stand it. Rosewater would have been used.)

                                                                         
  

