Caylee's Catches

Book reviews, musings and interesting catches

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese a la Paula Deen — October 26, 2007

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese a la Paula Deen

Ok so I’m not a huge fan of Macaroni and Cheese and I think Kraft Dinner is something that loses it’s shelf life in the back of your cupboard. Yes I always have a box of it, but I sure dont eat it! Ew.

In the morning I try to watch Michael Smith in his latest show, Chef At Home. The tv is programmed to switch to something else after this show but recently I have been distracted by this woman saying, “Hey Y’all!” just before the switch. So one morning I decided to watch this lady do her thing rather than go do something else. She’s very entertaining; almost, but not quite the Souths’ answer to the late Justin “I Garontee” Wilson lol

She’s just this shiny happy person with a cute accent. So I watch it occasionally. And then Rachel Ray comes on and I run for the remote. Some of these celebrechef’s! Ew.

One of Paulas episodes was on slow cooking. Now this woman does mostly southern cooking and mostly not of the healthy variety. Note the two do not always go hand in hand. But this is definitely a “comfort food” show and this episode was the ultimate of comfort food. This recipe for Mac & Cheese is NOT for the faint of heart (read: this Mac n Cheese seems to have balls) and you have to really really love cheese. Yum.

I’ll let you know what happens.

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

Show: Paula’s Home Cooking

Episode: Slow Cookin’

2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni (an 8-ounce box isn’t quite 2 cups)

1/2 cup (1/2 stuck) butter, cut into pieces

2 1/2 cups (about 10 ounces) grated sharp Cheddar cheese

3 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup sour cream

1 (10 3/4-ounce) can condensed Cheddar cheese soup

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup whole milk

1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

 

Boil the macaroni in a 2 quart saucepan in plenty of water until tender, about 7 minutes. Drain.

 

In a medium saucepan, mix butter and cheese. Stir until the cheese melts.

 

In a slow cooker, combine cheese/butter mixture and add the eggs, sour cream, soup, salt, milk, mustard and pepper and stir well. Then add drained macaroni and stir again. Set the slow cooker on low setting and cook for 3 hours, stirring occasionally.

 

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese a la Paula Deen —

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese a la Paula Deen

Ok so I’m not a huge fan of Macaroni and Cheese and I think Kraft Dinner is something that loses it’s shelf life in the back of your cupboard. Yes I always have a box of it, but I sure dont eat it! Ew.

In the morning I try to watch Michael Smith in his latest show, Chef At Home. The tv is programmed to switch to something else after this show but recently I have been distracted by this woman saying, “Hey Y’all!” just before the switch. So one morning I decided to watch this lady do her thing rather than go do something else. She’s very entertaining; almost, but not quite the Souths’ answer to the late Justin “I Garontee” Wilson lol

She’s just this shiny happy person with a cute accent. So I watch it occasionally. And then Rachel Ray comes on and I run for the remote. Some of these celebrechef’s! Ew.

One of Paulas episodes was on slow cooking. Now this woman does mostly southern cooking and mostly not of the healthy variety. Note the two do not always go hand in hand. But this is definitely a “comfort food” show and this episode was the ultimate of comfort food. This recipe for Mac & Cheese is NOT for the faint of heart (read: this Mac n Cheese seems to have balls) and you have to really really love cheese. Yum.

I’ll let you know what happens.

Creamy Macaroni and Cheese

Show: Paula’s Home Cooking

Episode: Slow Cookin’

2 cups uncooked elbow macaroni (an 8-ounce box isn’t quite 2 cups)

1/2 cup (1/2 stuck) butter, cut into pieces

2 1/2 cups (about 10 ounces) grated sharp Cheddar cheese

3 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup sour cream

1 (10 3/4-ounce) can condensed Cheddar cheese soup

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup whole milk

1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

 

Boil the macaroni in a 2 quart saucepan in plenty of water until tender, about 7 minutes. Drain.

 

In a medium saucepan, mix butter and cheese. Stir until the cheese melts.

 

In a slow cooker, combine cheese/butter mixture and add the eggs, sour cream, soup, salt, milk, mustard and pepper and stir well. Then add drained macaroni and stir again. Set the slow cooker on low setting and cook for 3 hours, stirring occasionally.

 

Categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments

  1. hmmm

    sounds like the mac n cheese my ex mom in law made, only instead of a crock pot she’d put it in the oven for 2 hours with a breadcrumb topping. YUM

    Like

  2. Oh yummy. It looks positively decadent. Mac and Cheese is one of my favourite comfort foods but I never make it. If I do make this recipe I will wait until I have some friends over otherwise I would eat it all. Looking forward to how it goes for you and what you thought of it if you make it.

    Like

  3. That sounds absolutely delicious. My arteries are already using nasty words at me

    Like

  4. Oh wow that sounds good!

    I find home made mac often loses the pop of the good cheese flavours in some blander version of a sauce. This sounds like it will still keep a lot of good strong flavour.

    Like

  5. I was going to add this to my memories, but I can’t find how to on your page. Looks tasty! Bob loves cheese, so I think I’ll try this one out soon as the ingredients list is pre-approved (except for salt). Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

0 Pingbacks

Leave a Reply

