I had a plethora of celery appear in my fridge. That’s pretty scary to me as I don’t eat a lot of it and don’t cook much with it either. So I got to thinking and the best way I could use it up was to make soup.

Didn’t turn out too bad and I have enough for a couple of meals. I will freeze the remaining that we don’t eat tonight for supper.

1 Large Onion, chpd
2 tbsp Butter
1.5 tbsp Flour
4 cps Vegetable Stock, low sodium, no msg
3 Potatoes, cubed
7 cups Celery, chpd
Salt and Pepper
1 cup Milk

Sauté the onion in the butter for about 5 mins. Stir in flour well. Adding a little stock at a time, make sure you bring it back to a boil before adding the next amount. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Add potatoes and celery and bring back to the boil. Cover and simmer for about 30 mins until veggies are tender. Cool.

Puree in a blender or food processor. I use my blender with the top center piece taken off and a paper towel over the hole.

Reheat with the milk.

Edit: For those that mind the celery “strings”, I suggest straining before serving.

.

