Did my first beer can chicken today! It turned out great and it was drop dead easy.

All I did was buy a small chicken, rub it with a little Old Bay Seasoning and coarse salt. Since I didn’t have a can of beer, I drank a pop and filled it halfway with white wine, more Old Bay, a touch of Worcestershire sauce, and pepper. You shove the can up the chickens bum and then cook it on indirect heat on the barbeque for about 70 mins!

Problems arose when the chicken started cooking…and shrinking. All it wanted to do at this point was lie down as its little feet were not touching the grill anymore and thus lost the tripod effect. Perhaps it was too drunk, I dunno. So I grabbed a small wire rack and propped it up, turning the chicken every 15-20 mins. What a hoot.

The skin was so crisp (and I never eat chicken skin) and the meat so moist and flavourful that I am going to do this again and again. Ideas and flavour combinations are piling up already!

So this pic isn’t my chicken, but it gives you an idea of what it looks like. I understand that there are contraptions out there that will make the need for wire racks and such unnecessary. I’m looking into it already.

Old Bay Seasoning Recipe (Copycat)


“This was adapted from Aliza Green from Field Guide to Herbs & Spices. A little different from the recipes already here. Traditionally, this seasoning is used for steamed crabs, but is now used for fish, potato salad, potatoes, and other vegetables.”

I personally put it on chicken, and in my homemade bisquick mix and always have some on hand. I have yet to find bay leaf powder and make my own in my spice grinder.
 
 

2 tablespoons bay leaf powder

2 tablespoons celery salt

1 tablespoon dry mustard

2 teaspoons ground black pepper

2 teaspoons ground ginger

2 teaspoons sweet paprika (smoked paprika is even better if you can find it!)

1 teaspoon white pepper

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon ground allspice

½ teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

½ teaspoon ground mace

½ teaspoon ground cardamom

¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon

 

Combine all ingredients in an airtight jar, mix thoroughly.

Keep sealed until ready to use.

 

EDIT: I found those contraptions everywhere and have owned one for a while…doing one now!

