For those of you that dont know, my 11 year old dog Jake is a rescue from the Canadian Yorkshire Terrier Rescue and I have had him for about 4 years. When he came to live here I knew that due to the advanced state of his teeth, he would eventually have to have them out. 

Jakes doing better. 2-3 days after his surgery we had to take him in to the vet because he was doing the body tremour thing and looking glassy eyed. Freaked me out so much I spent the night spooned around him holding him. I figured it was the drugs he was on and sure enough it was. (Fentanol patch for pain and Rymadyl for inflammation)

They took his patch off and I stopped giving him his anti-inflammatory pills and he finally stopped with the shaking. After doing some research I am convinced that the issue was with the Rymadyl and have some suggestions for my Vet clinic using this particular one for canine post-surgery. Thankfully they have listened to me on other occasions, so maybe they’ll hear me out on this one.

 
Jake’s been on a fairly steep learning curve with regards to eating. His whole routine changed because his of his diet. A dog “thinks” around daily events and work best with routine (as are children). So our little routine surrounding his morning and afternoon snacks changed, as did his supper meal time. Not only were the foods and presentation different, he had to re-learn to eat with only 4 bottom teeth as well. All this while dealing with the pain of healing sutures.
 
I sure have a brave, spunky and clever fellow. He’s doing much better than I am. If I could just get him to relax during hockey games. (little quirk from his before-life)

In regards to the pet food scare, I was very lucky in that Jake ate Science Diet t/d Small Bites for Seniors and Medical Mature/Weight Control canned and none of these products was recalled.  But since I had to cut out the kibble for my toothless wonder, I chose to come up with something that I know wont be recalled and I can trust whats in it. In my case I add it to his canned food at supper and give him a little bit straight in the morning and afternoon. (small dogs should be fed more than once a day, imo all dogs should)

In the case of a dog with teeth, optimally this would be added to their kibble.

Jakes Dog Mix

1 lb Hamburger
1/2 lb Chicken Livers, chopped
3 cps Peas and Carrots, frozen
1 cp Brown Rice, good quality otherwise its just white rice sprayed brown
2 Eggs, hardboiled and chpd
1 cp Cottage Cheese
1 tsp Italian Seasoning

Put the chicken livers and the hamburger into a dutch oven or stock pot and cover 2″ with water. Bring to a boil and add rice and seasoning. Lower heat to a simmer and mix well.

While still slightly frozen whiz the peas and carrots in the processor until coarse. Add to mixture and mix well.

Bring back to a boil and then simmer for approximately 45 mins or until meat is cooked. Stir often paying attention to the bottom of the pot.

Remove from heat. Mix in cottage cheese and egg. Cool and freeze in containers.

